Link: National Chili Day

Yesterday was National Chili Day. I started writing a post, but didn’t quite get to finish, so now I’m posting this late. Coincidentally, my job had a Chili Cook-Off today (without knowing about the holiday). I used a recipe from Pat and Gina Neely of Food Network fame that was very well received by my coworkers – they ate all of it.

Click below to learn some background on National Chili Day.

http://www.punchbowl.com/holidays/2012/2/23/national-chili-day

Here’s Pat Neely’s recipe:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/patrick-and-gina-neely/pats-famous-beef-and-pork-chili-recipe/index.html

What I changed:

They didn’t specify what type of onions, so I opted for sweet onions. I added green pepper. I used 4 tablespoons of chili powder instead of 3, substituting the 4th for the 1 tablespoon of chipotle to keep down the spiciness. I used Blue Moon instead of Budweiser. I left out the black beans and used Bush’s Seasoned Kidney Beans for extra flavor. I also added 2 teaspoons of sugar. They also didn’t specify any tomatoes, so I used Hunt’s although Cento has great flavor as well. I also seasoned the meats with onion powder, garlic powder, black pepper, white pepper and kosher salt.

~ by T. Money on February 24, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
