Review: Chick-Fil-A

My Chick-Fil-A Costume

My Chick-Fil-A Costume

Okay, so its a national chain, not a local restaurant. But I have to take a moment and acknowledge my love for all things Chick-Fil-A. First of all, I didn’t even know Chick-Fil-A until I started eating their food on my college campus (Towson University – Go Tigers!) several years ago. But I hadn’t actually come into appreciating them until after I graduated and realized that at the time the restaurant was really sparse in and around Baltimore. Now there are a number that are very easy for me to get to and I take full advantage.

Company Overview

It all started in 1946, when Truett Cathy opened his first restaurant, The Dwarf Grill, in Hapeville, Georgia. Credited with inventing Chick-fil-A’s boneless breast of chicken sandwich, Mr. Cathy founded Chick-fil-A, Inc. in the early 1960s and pioneered the establishment of restaurants in shopping malls with the opening of the first Chick-fil-A Restaurant at a mall in suburban Atlanta in 1967. Since then, Chick-fil-A has steadily grown to become the second largest quick-service chicken restaurant chain in the United States, with over 1,500 locations in 39 states and Washington, D.C. In 2010, annual sales were over $3.5 billion. Chick-fil-A is still privately held and family owned. With 43 consecutive years of positive sales growth, Chick-fil-A has set itself apart by pioneering innovations and delicious products—including the ever-popular Chick-fil-A® Chicken Sandwich.¹

Where do I begin with them? Their marketing. It’s freaking genius! You sell chicken and your mascot is a bunch of cows in costumes telling you to “Eat Mor Chickin.”

Quality of food. The chicken is always perfectly cooked. It has a nice balance of seasoning and isn’t dripping with grease, with plenty of options.

Quality of service. When was the last time you walked into a CFA and encountered anything less than 67 employees? I mean there are always people standing around trying to take your order or refill your beverage. Moreover, they are actually friendly and helpful. When was the last time you received service like that at the local McD’s? I willing to guess that the last time you visited McD’s either the Ice Cream Machine was broken or it took way too long for a quarter pounder with cheese (just the sandwich). I don’t care if the McRib and Monopoly are back, poor service will always keep me away.

PS: Is it me, or do you always crave Chick-Fil-A on a Sunday just because they are closed?

1. “Company Overview.” www.chick-fil-a.com. 2011.Web. 5 November 2011.

~ by T. Money on November 5, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
